#### SOUTHEND-ON-SEA BOROUGH COUNCIL

## **Meeting of The Council**

Date: Thursday, 15th June, 2017
Place: Council Chamber - Civic Suite

**Present:** Councillor F Evans (Chair)

Councillors D Jarvis (Deputy Chair), B Arscott, S Aylen, B Ayling, M Borton, A Bright, S Buckley, D Burzotta, M Butler, T Byford, T Callaghan, Cllr M A Chalk, T Cox, M Davidson, C Endersby, M Flewitt, N Folkard, J Garston, I Gilbert, S Habermel, R Hadley, A Holland, A Jones, D Kenyon, J Lamb, H McDonald, D McGlone, J McMahon, A Moring, C Mulroney, C Nevin, D Norman MBE, G Phillips, K Robinson, L Salter, M Terry, P Van Looy, N Ward, J Ware-Lane, C Walker, F Waterworth, P Wexham, C Willis and

R Woodley

Start/End Time: 6.30pm/6.45pm

### 55 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Boyd, Courtenay, Davies, D Garston, Moyies and Stafford.

#### 56 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest at this meeting.

## 57 Introduction of Newly Elected Member for Shoeburyness Ward

The Worshipful the Mayor welcomed Councillor Anne Chalk to the Council as the newly elected Member for the Shoeburyness Ward following the by-election on 25<sup>th</sup> May 2017.

## 58 Minute's Silence - Recent Terror Attacks and Fire at Grenfell Tower Block

The Council stood for a one minute silence as a mark of respect for all those affected by the recent terror attacks in Manchester and London and the tragic incident at the Grenfell Tower Block, West London.

# 59 Changes to Membership of Committees, etc as a result of the Shoeburyness By-Election

The Council considered a report of the Director of Legal & Democratic Services which outlined minor changes to the appointments to Committees, Working Parties and one outside body as a result of the Shoeburyness by-election and a change to the Labour Group on the Council.

Resolved:

1. That it be noted that as a consequence of the Independent Group holding Shoeburyness in the by-election held on 25 May 2017 and Councillor McMahon giving notice to the Acting Chief Executive that she no longer wishes to be treated as a member of the Labour Group on the Council, the political make-up of the Council is as follows:

Conservative Group – 27
Independent Group – 11
Labour Group – 9
Liberal Democrat Group – 2
Non-aligned – 2 (Councillors Aylen and McMahon)

- 2. That the changes to the membership of Committees for the remainder of the municipal year 2017/18, as set out in revised List C at Appendix 1 to the submitted report, be approved.
- 3. That it be noted that on the Cultural, Tourism and Events Working Party and the Southend Business and Tourism Partnership, Councillor Borton will replace Councillor McMahon at the Labour Group's request.
- 4. That the Council's representatives on the Essex Fire Authority for the remainder of the municipal year 2017/18 shall be Councillors Evans, Holland and Woodley and their substitutes shall be Councillors Folkard, Moyies and Terry respectively.

Chairman:	